My Favorites of 2012

Published January 3, 2013 by bookspirit99

Hello every single person who reads my blog! I’m back! (sorry for the absence!)

Whoa! I didn’t even realize that it was the new year! Well, here are my favorite books that I read in 2012! I loved them all!

1.fahrenheit 451 Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451 really struck deep. It is a wonderful book. The ideas presented within it were very powerful in what they meant in today’s society. Ray Bradbury is practically a prophet! He somehow knew or guessed the future. This book almost makes me fear the future and what it could mean for books and reading!

2. city of BonesCity of Bones by Cassandra Clare

When I first heard my friends talking about this book, I thought to myself, it can’t possibly be any good, if it is so popular. Like Twilight. Everyone I know seems in love with that book, but personally, I really dislike the content and horrible storyline. A few years later, I decided to pick it up anyway, just to try. (I tried Twilight and about burned the book) I loved what I read and I devoured the book very quickly, like fire through paper. I loved the book and the rest of the series! About a year later, I have read almost all of the series (that’s written) and the companion series, Infernal Devices, besides! I just love it!! Team Clary/Jace by the way!

3. hunger games book coverThe Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

This is an amazing book! I found this one through my very helpful middle-school librarian (we were on speaking terms!!! not like high school!) and devoured it quickly. I believe it is one of my all-time favorites, among Harry Potter and others. When the movie came out this year, I reread the book and attended the Midnight Premier! I also am a fan of the movie! Team Katniss/Gale!

4.

the book thief cover

The Book Thief By Markus Zusak

This is a great inspirational story! I loved it. Everyone needs to read this. I liked it especially over Anne Frank’s diary because it showed more action and danger of the war, while still showing the Jews and their suffering.

5. I am Number FourI am Number Four by Pittacus Lore

This book presented a new idea, yet one that we have heard before. Aliens. But how about the world’s population not knowing that they already live among us? I loved this book for all the action and battle scenes. THe characters and their actions are good too.

6. The body finderThe Body Finder by Kimberly Derting

This book is something else. I have never been a hard-core fan of mystery, but I might change my mind. This is sort of a paranormal mystery romance mix. I loved it for its uniqueness and the storyline was great. I will have to read on!

7. Anna Dressed in BloodAnna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake

I loved it! I’ve never read a romance novel from the guy’s perspective, and this is a prime example. Even more so, I have never read a romance book about a ghost and a living person. Good Job Kendare Blake for the interesting ideas! I am currently reading Girl of Nightmares, the sequel, and loving it. The ghost parts in these books actually scare me sometimes. I was reading Girl of Nightmares yesterday and I about flew out of my chair when the phone rang. Twice.

8. Howl's moving castleHowl’s Moving Castle by Dianna Wynne Jones

I loved it! The reading level isn’t too far below me, but the simplicity of the magic and storyline make this story a masterpiece. I am a huge fan of Dianna Wynne Jones, ever since I was a child. The movie by Studio Ghibli is just as great!

9. 

The book cover! It's pretty cool!

Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins

I love it! Such good romance and magic all rolled into one amazing taquito! (haha, mexican food!) I enjoyed this series because of the rich characters, romance, magic and world. I loved it all.

10. matchedMatched by Ally Condie

This book is okay. I didn’t enjoy it like I have others, and as the series went on, I disliked it more and more. It’s only on my top 10 list because I needed 10 books… 😛 Team Cassia/NO-ONE

3 comments on “My Favorites of 2012

  • Yay Bradbury!

    My wife loved Matched and book 2 as well; we just got the conclusion to the trilogy. Interesting you didn’t like it as well. What made you dislike it?

  • Leave a Reply

